puppet_concat.git
7 years agoupdate README.markdown to clearly indicate how to start using the concat module master
Micah Anderson [Wed, 20 Jun 2012 14:38:08 +0000 (10:38 -0400)]
update README.markdown to clearly indicate how to start using the concat module

7 years agoMerge pull request #23 from sathlan/feature/add-basic-tests
R.I.Pienaar [Thu, 31 May 2012 23:36:59 +0000 (16:36 -0700)]
Merge pull request #23 from sathlan/feature/add-basic-tests

Feature/add basic tests

7 years agoCleanup.
sathlan [Thu, 31 May 2012 12:42:49 +0000 (14:42 +0200)]
Cleanup.

7 years agoAdding basic tests.
sathlan [Thu, 31 May 2012 12:31:43 +0000 (14:31 +0200)]
Adding basic tests.

Successfully tested inside rvm:
  - ruby 1.8.7-p302;
  - puppet (2.7.13)
  - facter (1.6.9)
  - bundler (1.1.3)
  - diff-lcs (1.1.3)
  - metaclass (0.0.1)
  - mocha (0.11.4)
  - puppet-lint (0.1.13)
  - rake (0.9.2.2)
  - rspec (2.8.0)
  - rspec-core (2.8.0)
  - rspec-expectations (2.8.0)
  - rspec-mocks (2.8.0)
  - rspec-puppet (0.1.3)
  - rubygems-bundler (1.0.2)
  - rvm (1.11.3.3)

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:ripienaar/puppet-concat
R.I.Pienaar [Tue, 29 May 2012 18:30:35 +0000 (19:30 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:ripienaar/puppet-concat

7 years agoMerge pull request #21 from mrwacky42/basedir_warning
R.I.Pienaar [Wed, 23 May 2012 21:42:14 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Merge pull request #21 from mrwacky42/basedir_warning

Fail with helpful advice if $::concat_basedir is not yet set

7 years agoFail with helpful advice if $::concat_basedir is not yet set
Sharif Nassar [Wed, 23 May 2012 21:35:08 +0000 (14:35 -0700)]
Fail with helpful advice if $::concat_basedir is not yet set

Building on the new docs in https://github.com/ripienaar/puppet-concat/pull/20

7 years agoMerge pull request #20 from endemics/master
R.I.Pienaar [Sun, 20 May 2012 18:29:21 +0000 (11:29 -0700)]
Merge pull request #20 from endemics/master

add information about concat_basedir and the need for pluginsync = true at least once

7 years agoadd information about concat_basedir and the need for pluginsync = true at least...
Gildas Le Nadan [Sun, 20 May 2012 18:24:22 +0000 (20:24 +0200)]
add information about concat_basedir and the need for pluginsync = true at least once

7 years agoadd files needed for the module forge
R.I.Pienaar [Mon, 30 Apr 2012 09:45:08 +0000 (10:45 +0100)]
add files needed for the module forge

7 years agoMerge pull request #18 from dalen/master
R.I.Pienaar [Tue, 24 Apr 2012 15:01:43 +0000 (08:01 -0700)]
Merge pull request #18 from dalen/master

A patch to make puppet-concat better comply with community style guidelines.

7 years agoStyle guideline fixes
Erik Dalén [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 17:02:43 +0000 (18:02 +0100)]
Style guideline fixes

Comply better with puppet community style guidelines.

Change-Id: Ie1782d266539b1a8f9890b2ade77280011aa22aa

7 years agoMerge pull request #17 from pdxcat/refactor_remove_gnuflag
R.I.Pienaar [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 19:08:05 +0000 (12:08 -0700)]
Merge pull request #17 from pdxcat/refactor_remove_gnuflag

Remove the gnu parameter from concat

7 years agoRemove the gnu parameter from concat
Reid Vandewiele [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 21:09:50 +0000 (14:09 -0700)]
Remove the gnu parameter from concat

Previously, the concatfragments.sh script was would default to using
GNU-specific flags for find, sort, and xargs. This necessitated
explicit passing of a "gnu = false" parameter to the concat define in
order to successfully run the script without GNU-specific flags when
working with systems that do not by default include GNU versions of the
utilities (solaris, for example).

This commit modifies the concatfragments script such that GNU versions
of the utilities are not needed at all. It does this while preserving
the original use case for the GNU flags, which was to allow special
characters (like spaces) in the filenames, which it accomplished by
using GNU flags to separate fields using null characters instead of
newlines.

In order to preserve backwards-compatibility with existing puppet
installations that make use of the "gnu = false" parameter, the
parameter list for the concat define has not been changed. Rather, the
gnu parameter is now deprecated and ignored.

7 years agoFix comments to match actual behavior, clean up old script.
Sharif Nassar [Wed, 14 Dec 2011 21:45:06 +0000 (13:45 -0800)]
Fix comments to match actual behavior, clean up old script.

* Zap the old copy of /usr/local/bin/concatfragments.sh.
* Fix comments to point at new location of script.
* Delete trailing whitespace.

7 years agoMerge pull request #12 from mrwacky42/master
R.I.Pienaar [Wed, 14 Dec 2011 06:56:07 +0000 (22:56 -0800)]
Merge pull request #12 from mrwacky42/master

Unset silly Nexenta environment variable.

7 years agoRemove silly environment variable that corrupts reality.
Sharif Nassar [Wed, 14 Dec 2011 04:24:10 +0000 (20:24 -0800)]
Remove silly environment variable that corrupts reality.

Not sure how this is set in our puppet environment, but it is.
http://nexenta.org/projects/site/wiki/Personalities

7 years agoMerge pull request #11 from cwarden/fully-qualify
R.I.Pienaar [Tue, 6 Dec 2011 17:11:59 +0000 (09:11 -0800)]
Merge pull request #11 from cwarden/fully-qualify

Fix use of unqualified variable names

7 years agoFix use of unqualified variable names
Christian G. Warden [Mon, 5 Dec 2011 22:37:18 +0000 (14:37 -0800)]
Fix use of unqualified variable names

Fully qualify $::id, $::puppetversion, and $::concat_basedir.

8 years agoMerge pull request #8 from duritong/master
R.I.Pienaar [Wed, 3 Aug 2011 13:44:57 +0000 (06:44 -0700)]
Merge pull request #8 from duritong/master

use client's vardir - make module usable for unprivileged users

8 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'ripienaar/master'
Peter Meier [Wed, 3 Aug 2011 12:27:37 +0000 (14:27 +0200)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'ripienaar/master'

8 years agoMerge pull request #10 from mediatemple/master
R.I.Pienaar [Tue, 12 Jul 2011 08:35:11 +0000 (01:35 -0700)]
Merge pull request #10 from mediatemple/master

Fix for /bin/sh on Solaris.

8 years agoOn Solaris, 'test -a' does not work with /bin/sh
Sharif Nassar [Mon, 11 Jul 2011 23:54:20 +0000 (16:54 -0700)]
On Solaris, 'test -a' does not work with /bin/sh

     -a file                 True if file exists. (Not  available
                             in sh.)

8 years agoMerge pull request #5 from TimBaldoni/master
R.I.Pienaar [Thu, 23 Jun 2011 22:20:24 +0000 (15:20 -0700)]
Merge pull request #5 from TimBaldoni/master

updated to better support dash

8 years agofinish work for unpriviledged user
Peter Meier [Thu, 23 Jun 2011 11:37:03 +0000 (13:37 +0200)]
finish work for unpriviledged user

To be able to use the module as an unprivileged user we need to
adjust certain things:

* only enforce the run user and group if we are root and can
  actually change the user
* set owner/group of our files and directories to our own user/group
* place the concat script in a location we can write -> use the
  concat dir for that.

8 years agodon't use a hardcoded concatdir
Peter Meier [Thu, 23 Jun 2011 09:05:43 +0000 (11:05 +0200)]
don't use a hardcoded concatdir

Get the concat base directory from a fact -> makes it useable if
Puppet's :vardir is not /var/lib/puppet/. This fixes problems with
PE and makes the module also useable for puppet runs as
unpriviledged user.

8 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'tim/master'
Peter Meier [Thu, 23 Jun 2011 08:17:32 +0000 (10:17 +0200)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'tim/master'

8 years agoMerge pull request #7 from mrwacky42/master
R.I.Pienaar [Tue, 21 Jun 2011 21:44:34 +0000 (14:44 -0700)]
Merge pull request #7 from mrwacky42/master

As discussed .. Make $concatdir only readable by root.

8 years agoMake sure interesting data in the concatdir is only available to root
Sharif Nassar [Mon, 20 Jun 2011 20:31:25 +0000 (13:31 -0700)]
Make sure interesting data in the concatdir is only available to root

8 years agoDash (default /bin/sh on Debian and Ubuntu) does not support 'echo -e'. That invocat...
Tim [Wed, 20 Apr 2011 21:54:27 +0000 (14:54 -0700)]
Dash (default /bin/sh on Debian and Ubuntu) does not support 'echo -e'.  That invocation of echo is not POSIX compliant: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/dash/+bug/72167

8 years ago- make the root group configurable in the concat::setup class for portability
Pierre-Yves Ritschard [Thu, 3 Feb 2011 17:58:09 +0000 (17:58 +0000)]
- make the root group configurable in the concat::setup class for portability
- use sh and not bash

8 years agoFix doco typo
R.I.Pienaar [Wed, 19 Jan 2011 17:36:20 +0000 (17:36 +0000)]
Fix doco typo

8 years agoadd "g" option to getopts
Jonathan Boyett [Tue, 14 Dec 2010 19:06:27 +0000 (11:06 -0800)]
add "g" option to getopts

8 years agoUpdate changelog
R.I.Pienaar [Fri, 3 Dec 2010 20:55:34 +0000 (20:55 +0000)]
Update changelog

8 years agoadd a -g flag to concatfragments.sh to disable GNU extensions to find, sort and xargs...
Jonathan Boyett [Fri, 3 Dec 2010 20:35:23 +0000 (12:35 -0800)]
add a -g flag to concatfragments.sh to disable GNU extensions to find, sort and xargs; makes concat work on Solaris.

Add a $gnu parameter to make use of the aforementioned -g flag, and a $order parameter to make use of the -n flag in concatfragments.sh

9 years agoUpdate cangelog
R.I.Pienaar [Mon, 4 Oct 2010 21:48:47 +0000 (22:48 +0100)]
Update cangelog

9 years agoParametrize warning message
martin f. krafft [Mon, 4 Oct 2010 21:02:32 +0000 (23:02 +0200)]
Parametrize warning message

The concat warn parameter can now be any string (and needs to include
the appropriate commenting character) and will then override the default
(which still gets printed when warn=>true).

Signed-off-by: martin f. krafft <madduck@madduck.net>
9 years agoFix the Usage example so it parses and orders properly
Chris Jones [Tue, 3 Aug 2010 22:41:39 +0000 (06:41 +0800)]
Fix the Usage example so it parses and orders properly

9 years agoMake the filebucket behavior of files configurable
R.I.Pienaar [Wed, 14 Jul 2010 12:01:45 +0000 (13:01 +0100)]
Make the filebucket behavior of files configurable

9 years agoimprove documentation
R.I.Pienaar [Sat, 22 May 2010 10:14:28 +0000 (11:14 +0100)]
improve documentation

9 years agoimprove documentation
R.I.Pienaar [Sat, 22 May 2010 10:09:47 +0000 (11:09 +0100)]
improve documentation

9 years agoMarkdown really is pretty rubbish and inconsistent.
R.I.Pienaar [Fri, 14 May 2010 14:44:20 +0000 (15:44 +0100)]
Markdown really is pretty rubbish and inconsistent.

9 years agoMarkdown tweaks
R.I.Pienaar [Fri, 14 May 2010 14:40:49 +0000 (15:40 +0100)]
Markdown tweaks

9 years agoAdd markdown readme and clear up old info from README
R.I.Pienaar [Thu, 13 May 2010 18:48:30 +0000 (19:48 +0100)]
Add markdown readme and clear up old info from README

9 years agoupdate README with a sample
R.I.Pienaar [Wed, 12 May 2010 15:35:46 +0000 (16:35 +0100)]
update README with a sample

9 years agoImprove error message and documentation
R.I.Pienaar [Fri, 7 May 2010 18:15:21 +0000 (19:15 +0100)]
Improve error message and documentation

9 years agofix spacing/tab mixup
R.I.Pienaar [Thu, 6 May 2010 21:56:26 +0000 (22:56 +0100)]
fix spacing/tab mixup

9 years agoPull in work from private Subversion repository
R.I.Pienaar [Thu, 6 May 2010 21:55:02 +0000 (22:55 +0100)]
Pull in work from private Subversion repository