add usage section
authorKali Kaneko <kali@leap.se>
Tue, 9 Sep 2014 00:43:38 +0000 (19:43 -0500)
committerKali Kaneko <kali@leap.se>
Tue, 9 Sep 2014 00:47:04 +0000 (19:47 -0500)
README.rst

index 2e62553..5cc37a4 100644 (file)
@@ -9,3 +9,21 @@ Packaging for SQLCipher (c) 2013 Kali Kaneko
 
 It uses a sqlcipher amalgamation, see https://www.sqlite.org/amalgamation.html
 
+Usage
+-----
+You have to pass the ``PRAGMA=key`` before doing any operations::
+  from pysqlcipher import dbapi2 as sqlite
+  conn = sqlite.connect('test.db')
+  c = conn.cursor()
+  c.execute("PRAGMA key='test'")
+  c.execute('''create table stocks (date text, trans text, symbol text, qty real, price real)''')
+  c.execute("""insert into stocks values ('2006-01-05','BUY','RHAT',100,35.14)""")
+  conn.commit()
+  c.close()
+
+You can quickly verify that your database file in indeed encrypted::
+  hexdump -C test.db                                                                                                        
+  ab 7f 61 7a 33 9d 07 f4  08 68 c9 b0 4f e3 34 60  |..az3....h..O.4`|
+  bb 9d 9c 3d 9e ce 69 57  b6 2f 36 c4 fd 13 bd 61  |...=..iW./6....a|
+  77 bf e3 1d 65 b5 ea f7  d2 fc 98 31 23 66 a0 1e  |w...e......1#f..|
+  a4 4f fa 66 49 36 84 a1  3e 0c 21 98 84 07 eb 07  |.O.fI6..>.!.....|