(#13062) Added clarification that 'revision' can also be used for branches.
authorNick Jackson <nick@nickjackson.me>
Thu, 5 Apr 2012 12:35:48 +0000 (14:35 +0200)
committerKen Barber <ken@bob.sh>
Thu, 5 Apr 2012 13:54:40 +0000 (14:54 +0100)
README.GIT.markdown

index 04ac05b..b63d90b 100644 (file)
@@ -31,7 +31,7 @@ To get the current [master] HEAD:
         source => "git://example.com/repo.git"
     }
 
-For a specific revision (can be a commit SHA or tag):
+For a specific revision or branch (can be a commit SHA, tag or branch name):
 
     vcsrepo { "/path/to/repo":
         ensure => present,
@@ -47,6 +47,13 @@ For a specific revision (can be a commit SHA or tag):
         revision => '1.1.2rc1'
     }
 
+    vcsrepo { "/path/to/repo":
+        ensure => present,
+        provider => git,
+        source => 'git://example.com/repo.git',
+        revision => 'development'
+    }
+
 For sources that use SSH (eg, `username@server:...`)
 ----------------------------------------------------