puppet_bundler.git
3 years agoDont use curly braces in resource reference master
varac [Thu, 28 Apr 2016 11:49:36 +0000 (13:49 +0200)]
Dont use curly braces in resource reference

Puppet future parser will complain otherwise.

6 years agopassing install_method => '' to chose the default package provider was a bit
Micah Anderson [Thu, 29 Nov 2012 20:53:15 +0000 (15:53 -0500)]
passing install_method => '' to chose the default package provider was a bit
opaque in manifests, so allow for 'package' to be passed, which makes it more
clear how it is being done

6 years agoadd some backwards compatibility
Micah Anderson [Wed, 21 Nov 2012 00:19:21 +0000 (19:19 -0500)]
add some backwards compatibility
update documentation/comments to reflect reality

6 years agofix $install_method to work properly
Micah Anderson [Wed, 21 Nov 2012 00:08:45 +0000 (19:08 -0500)]
fix $install_method to work properly

unfortunately, if one attempts to set the $install_method to an empty string,
puppet complains that you are interning an empty string. If you set it to undef,
then the parameterized default will get chosen.

To fix this, I replaced the $bundler::params::install_method default class
parameter value with 'rvm' (the value that $bundler::params::install_method
defaulted to) and then setup a test to determine if the $install_method was set
to undef, if so, then we set a second variable ($provider_method) to undef and
use that.

6 years agoreplace $use_rvm with $install_method to enable more flexible installation
Micah Anderson [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 22:36:12 +0000 (17:36 -0500)]
replace $use_rvm with $install_method to enable more flexible installation
possibilities

The $use_rvm variable was limited to either using rvm or not, so we replace that
with $install_method, defaulting to the previous usage

If you set $use_rvm it to not use rvm, then the module would just use the
gem. This made it so you couldn't install bundler via a package. So the
$install_method was added which enabled you to alter how the non-rvm
installation was provided.

Unfortunately, it was a mistake to have both $use_rvm and $install_method
because $use_rvm is 'true' by default, so if you tried to set an install_method,
then it wouldn't work because it would just use the rvm method. So in order to
install via something other than rvm or gem, you would need to do both use_rvm
=> false; install_method => <whatever>.

Just having the install_method parameter is much cleaner, because it is generic,
doesn't require multiple settings when not installing via rvm or gem, and it
defaults to what the module was doing before (using rvm by default).

7 years agoupdate README.md to provide information about different install_method possibilities
Micah Anderson [Tue, 13 Nov 2012 14:45:43 +0000 (09:45 -0500)]
update README.md to provide information about different install_method possibilities

7 years agonote in README that Debian is also supported
Micah Anderson [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 19:36:00 +0000 (15:36 -0400)]
note in README that Debian is also supported

7 years agoenable other bundler installation possibilities
Micah Anderson [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 19:35:43 +0000 (15:35 -0400)]
enable other bundler installation possibilities

The way bundler was installed was either via the rvm method, or through gems. This change provides a parameter $install_method
that allows for the non-rvm puppet package resource installation method to be passed a different provider than gem, if desired
(eg. for package installation)

7 years agolint module
Micah Anderson [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 19:08:19 +0000 (15:08 -0400)]
lint module

Run puppet-lint on module, changes were minor, mostly just trailing spaces, and
a couple instances of boolean values being quoted.

7 years agofixed bug when running bundler from user other than root
Evan Stachowiak [Wed, 12 Sep 2012 22:19:11 +0000 (18:19 -0400)]
fixed bug when running bundler from user other than root

7 years agoload ruby_version from bundler class instead of bundler::params
Evan Stachowiak [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 19:20:43 +0000 (15:20 -0400)]
load ruby_version from bundler class instead of bundler::params

7 years agoadded ensure variable to install.pp
Evan Stachowiak [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 17:33:19 +0000 (13:33 -0400)]
added ensure variable to install.pp

7 years agoremoved default ruby version
Evan Stachowiak [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 18:43:35 +0000 (14:43 -0400)]
removed default ruby version

7 years agoadded license file
Evan Stachowiak [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 18:30:57 +0000 (14:30 -0400)]
added license file

7 years agoupdated README
Evan Stachowiak [Tue, 10 Jul 2012 21:53:31 +0000 (17:53 -0400)]
updated README

7 years agoinitial commit
Evan Stachowiak [Tue, 10 Jul 2012 21:52:11 +0000 (17:52 -0400)]
initial commit