[doc] add certificate generation info to readme
authordrebs <drebs@leap.se>
Wed, 28 Sep 2016 12:14:43 +0000 (09:14 -0300)
committerRuben Pollan <meskio@sindominio.net>
Wed, 28 Sep 2016 14:08:19 +0000 (09:08 -0500)
README.rst

index 727eedf..018a509 100644 (file)
@@ -23,6 +23,28 @@ extension directory whose contents point to the repository dir:
 * The file name must be `bitmask-thunderbird@leap.se`.
 * The file contents must be the path for this repository.
 
+Certificates
+------------
+
+For generating signed XPI packages you need a code signing certificate. In
+order to do that you will need Network Security Services ("nss") and Netscape
+Portable Runtime ("nspr"). If you are running debian, you can do:
+
+  apt install libnss3-dev libnspr4-dev libnss3-tools
+
+Initialize some variables:
+
+  CERTDIR=/path/to/cert/dir
+  CERTNICK=myCertificateNickname
+
+Initialize the certificate database:
+
+  certutil -N -d ${CERTDIR}
+
+Generate a signing certificate:
+
+  signtool -G ${CERTNICK} -d ${CERTDIR} -p"<password>"
+
 XPI Package
 -----------