[feat] Display notification to manually fetch messages if Bitmask is shut down
authorSukhbir Singh <sukhbir@torproject.org>
Tue, 27 Feb 2018 16:30:54 +0000 (11:30 -0500)
committerSukhbir Singh <sukhbir@torproject.org>
Thu, 1 Mar 2018 22:21:01 +0000 (17:21 -0500)
commit0d04d39353556fe6ba7c72592f949c984c67fc94
tree012e805f6716ed4fe576f494be9dc3b5550ebb59
parent89d99387f7b72b5f629266c61c733974014cfdea
[feat] Display notification to manually fetch messages if Bitmask is shut down

If Bitmask is shut down and Thunderbird is still running, notify the
user using an alert to refresh the session by manually fetching messages
("Get new messages"). Otherwise if Bitmask has shut down and Thunderbird
tries to fetch messages, it will throw up an error and to refresh the
session, the user has to manually fetch the messages.  There can be
better ways of handling this but for now we should just make sure that
the user knows why the messages are not being fetched in case Bitmask
stops running or is shut down.

Another solution can be to check for messages automatically for the user
after Bitmask is running to refresh the session but the reason this
approach was not preferred was because the user may not wish to check
for new messages and force-checking would not be transparent. (Not to
forget, the XUL hacks :)

This commit also removes a redundant string bundle call.
chrome/content/accountWizard/bitmaskMessengerOverlay.js
chrome/locale/en-US/bitmaskMessengerOverlay.properties